3 comments on “I’m a Gaymer, and That’s OK.

  1. Hey this is moosefaces (of course it is, who else spells her name all wonky?)! I feel the same way. The gaming community is very accepting of most everyone (except jerks, we don’t like jerks) and that’s why I feel more comfortable with a bunch of gamers than “normal” people.

    Also, I think a big reason why I’m so accepting of gaymers (there’s actually a lot more out there than you think) is because I grew up in California in a pretty liberal household and a pretty liberal town. I have had quite a few gay, bi, lesbian, and transgendered (I know 3 women who switched to men) friends in my lifetime and I love them as much as my straight friends. Actually, I might even love them more because they know what it’s like to be stereotyped against or made fun of.

    I was never popular and I was always bullied and teased as a kid. Also, being a woman, I come with an automatic stereotype (for some people anyway).

    But I am definitely not equating what I have had to go through with what a gay person has to go through. That’s not the same thing and I know it.

    I can relate to your and other’s experiences, though. Not directly, but similarly.

    Anyway, sorry for the tangent, back on topic. I’m pretty much accepting of everyone and I love how the gaming community is too, especially the Guild Wars community. This community is seriously the best I have ever been a part of. It’s the most loving, comfortable, and accepting one. We’re like one huge family. It’s awesome. Especially the Twitter community. They are amazing! They accept me and I realize I’m not for everyone. I’m lazy, obnoxious, weird, but the gaming community is FILLED with people just like me. It’s kind of scary, actually.

    The point of all this is, I totally agree with you. And I’m glad you and other gaymers feel comfortable talking to me and the rest of us. We’re here for you if you need us and it really warms my heart that you all have a safe place here with us 🙂

    • Different people experience different things, and it really depends on the person. You can’t say your experiences being stereotyped as a female gamer are any worse than mine as a gaymer just because I lack certain civil rights. Challenges are given to people based on their ability to withstand and overcome them, and they’re difficult for everyone

      • Yeah but sometimes people get upset when you try to compare your experiences to theirs. I just had to put that out there in case there was a misunderstanding. Not necessarily by you, but maybe by someone else reading this.

Leave a Reply

